Number of residents : 2.070
Height sea : m 386
Distance from Riccione : km 17
The history of the municipality
Today data on founders of Mons Scutulum are uncertain and unclear. The archaeological findings indicate the presence on the territory, in the various historical eras and protohistoric, of various ethnic groups: Umbria, Etruscans, celo, and Romany. The nearby town Santa Maria del Piano, also known today for a production of earthenware, was certainly popular, since more distant past, for its deposits of clay that gave initiated the flourishing trade in vases and amphorae with Greece and the rest of Italy, through the ancient coastal Crustumium center. The first document citing Montescutolo writing is a diploma Otto I gave in to Carpegna 962, as a symbol of 'happened passage of properties listed in feuds. Fortress Malatesta (Malatesta considered of strategic importance for the control of their land), after brief interventions montefeltrani, was in possession of the Church in 1528. Under Napoleonic rule was Montescudo capital of the canton III compartments of Rimini. Montescutolo The old name was changed in the current shortly after the annexation to the Kingdom of Italy in 1862.
The main attractions
The entire municipality is studded with signs of the past: the walls, the tower of civic fourteenth century, and a unique ice, placed in the historical centre, and several farmhouses and rural villages scattered in the countryside including the intact castle Albereto a few kilometres from the country. Interesting is also the parish church of SS. Biagio and Simone, in the capital, which has a beautiful wooden crucifix twelfth century. The agricultural activity in the past as important to our day (oil, wheat and wine), has recently been the subject of study and ideal tool to retrieve the old folk know. At the middle school has been set up by students and teachers, an interesting Museum of Civilization Contadina are exposed where the tools of the last century in use in the countryside and villages. Remarkable War Museum housed in the Church of Peace in the hamlet Trarivi. Maria del Plan are several laboratories ceramics. One of the most unique events folk is the Fair Pardon or Potato Festival held the second Sunday in August and draws (by the strong appeal of gastronomy) frotte tourists from the nearby Riviera.